DCI vs Tussell
Both are UK-based intelligence services that defence suppliers use to watch the UK market. DCI is defence-only, with alerts, frameworks and Aria AI summaries. Tussell covers UK public-sector spend, frameworks and contacts across government, with defence as one research output.
The short version
[ VERDICT ]DCI is the more defence-specific product, with international feeds, framework mapping, certifications and a success manager. Tussell is the stronger UK dataset for spend, call-offs and contacts across all of government. Neither publishes prices.
- 01DCI is scoped to defence and security and names feeds from OJEU/TED, MOD eNotice, Contracts Finder, Delta eSourcing and US federal sources. Tussell is UK public sector only.
- 02Both map frameworks: DCI claims 19,000+ frameworks with contract lifecycle views; Tussell covers frameworks, call-offs and lot-level intelligence.
- 03Both analyse spend: DCI covers UK defence and English public-sector spend; Tussell covers UK spend, and notes that MOD invoice data is incomplete.
- 04DCI has Aria AI contract summaries. Tussell uses AI to flag signals that analysts verify. Neither documents an MCP connection.
- 05DCI requires a one-year minimum that renews automatically. Tussell’s G-Cloud sample order form sets a 12-month minimum with no auto-renewal.
Feature by feature
[ 18 ROWS ]What each product documents publicly. “Not documented” means we could not find it, not proof it does not exist.
| DCI | Tussell | |
|---|---|---|
| Built for | Defence and security suppliers, SME to enterprise | Sales, BD and research teams selling to UK government |
| Sources and coverage | [ UK-LED ]OJEU/TED, MOD eNotice, Contracts Finder, Delta eSourcing and US federal feeds; listed plans scoped UK & ROI; no NATO agencies claimed | [ UK ONLY ]Tenders, awards, frameworks, call-offs and spend; no EU national, EU funding or NATO data |
| Defence relevance classification | [ DEFENCE-ONLY ]The whole service is scoped to defence; per-notice relevance scoring not documented | [ PARTIAL ]Publishes a UK defence procurement tracker; per-notice classification not documented |
| Clearance evidence | [ NOT DOCUMENTED ] | [ NOT DOCUMENTED ] |
| Fit matching | [ PARTIAL ]A “Recommender” is listed in plans; how it scores is not documented | [ NOT DOCUMENTED ] |
| Document briefs and citations | [ PARTIAL ]Aria contract summaries; citations not documented | [ NOT DOCUMENTED ]No generative assistant found |
| Requirements and company evidence | [ NOT DOCUMENTED ] | [ NOT DOCUMENTED ] |
| Amendment tracking | [ NOT DOCUMENTED ] | [ NOT DOCUMENTED ] |
| Pipeline and collaboration | [ PARTIAL ]Licence management, contact reminders and a bid manager tool in V7 | [ NOT DOCUMENTED ]Named-user licences and an account manager; no pipeline documented |
| Early signals | [ PARTIAL ]Market intelligence from news sources, frameworks and contract lifecycle views | [ YES ]AI-flagged, analyst-verified signals from UK buyer documents |
| Buyer contacts and spend data | [ YES ]UK defence spend analysis; “Contact Decision Makers” on higher plans | [ YES ]81,000+ UK contacts and invoice-level spend |
| REST API | [ PARTIAL ]“Open API” on the top plan only; no public documentation | [ PARTIAL ]Paid API delivered as daily files on AWS S3, with PDF documentation |
| MCP connection | [ NOT DOCUMENTED ] | [ NOT DOCUMENTED ] |
| CRM, Slack and Teams | [ NOT DOCUMENTED ] | [ YES ]Salesforce, HubSpot, Dynamics, Power BI, Slack, Teams and others via the paid API |
| Exports | [ PARTIAL ]Print notices; frameworks data export, formats not stated | [ YES ]CSV downloads; spend capped at 500,000 rows; 364-day data licence |
| Hosting and certifications | ISO 27001, ISO 9001 and JOSCAR; hosting location not stated | UK-hosted; Cyber Essentials; no ISO 27001 (G-Cloud listing) |
| Pricing | No published prices; one-year minimum that auto-renews | No published prices; G-Cloud 14 lists £11,400 per licence per year |
| Trial or free plan | [ YES ]3-day free trial, followed by a sales callback | [ PARTIAL ]G-Cloud listing: 7 days, one page of results, no export |
Checked against each vendor’s public pages on 15 September 2026. Sources are listed at the end of this page.
The differences that matter
[ 04 POINTS ]Defence focus
DCI is built for defence and security suppliers, with sectors from counter-terrorism and cyber to border control, and BiP Solutions also runs the DPRTE defence procurement event. Plans are listed for the UK and Ireland, with alerts, tender search and a recommender.
Tussell serves sales teams selling to UK government in general, including most UK Strategic Suppliers. Defence is covered in its data and its defence procurement tracker rather than as a product tier.
Data and analysis
DCI combines alerts, awards, a frameworks module, contract lifecycle views, UK defence spend analysis, market intelligence from news sources and decision-maker contacts on higher plans.
Tussell’s strength is breadth and verification across UK government: spend, frameworks, call-offs, lot intelligence, early opportunities checked by analysts, 81,000+ contacts and bespoke research.
Integrations and exports
DCI lists an “Open API” on its top plan only, without public documentation. Exports are thinly documented: printing alert notices and a frameworks export with formats unstated. See exporting from DCI.
Tussell’s paid API delivers daily files on AWS S3 into CRMs and BI tools, and the web app downloads CSV under a 364-day data licence. See exporting from Tussell.
Security and terms
DCI shows ISO 27001, ISO 9001 and JOSCAR. Its terms set a one-year minimum, automatic renewal and written cancellation 30 days before renewal; the trial is three days.
Tussell’s G-Cloud listing shows UK hosting, Cyber Essentials and no ISO 27001, an annual term without auto-renewal on the sample order form, and a seven-day trial without exports.
Pricing side by side
[ LIST PRICES ]As published on each site or public listing. Confirm before you buy.
| DCI | Tussell | |
|---|---|---|
| Published prices | No | No |
| Reference price | Quote on request | G-Cloud 14: £11,400 per licence per year |
| Plans | iconIQ, logIQ, dynamIQ, analytIQ (1–5 licences) | Starter, Plus, Pro |
| Term | One year, auto-renews | Annual; G-Cloud sample: no auto-renew |
| Trial | 3 days, then a sales callback | 7 days, one page of results, no export |
| API | Top plan only | Paid service on all plans |
| Support | Dedicated success manager | Named account manager |
Neither vendor publishes list prices on its website. Ask both for a quote on the same seat count and coverage.
Which one to choose
[ DECISION ]- +You sell only into defence and security and want a defence-specific service
- +You need MOD eNotice, Delta eSourcing and US federal feeds
- +Your security review needs ISO 27001 and JOSCAR
- +You want Aria contract summaries and executive reports
- –You also sell to civil UK government, local government and the NHS
- –You need framework call-off and lot-level data
- –You want a daily data feed into your CRM or BI tools
- –You prefer an annual term without automatic renewal
Where Defense Explorer fits
[ THIRD OPTION · OUR PRODUCT ]We sell a product in this category. This section is ours; the rest of the page is about the two products above.
Both products centre on the UK. If you bid to NSPA or to continental defence ministries, Defense Explorer covers those sources with defence relevance and clearance classification, cited briefs, a requirement matrix and published monthly pricing. It has no spend, framework or contact data.
Compare it directly: Defense Explorer vs DCI and Defense Explorer vs Tussell.
Questions
[ 05 ANSWERS ]01Is DCI or Tussell better for UK defence suppliers?
DCI if you want a defence-only alerts and intelligence service with account support. Tussell if you want the deeper UK market dataset across all of government. See the best UK defence tender software.
02Which is cheaper?
Neither publishes prices. Tussell’s G-Cloud 14 listing shows £11,400 per licence per year; DCI quotes on request.
03Do DCI or Tussell cover NATO tenders?
We found no NATO agency sources claimed by either. DCI writes about NATO procurement; Tussell is UK only. See NATO tender monitoring tools.
04Which has AI features?
DCI’s Aria Intelligence produces contract summaries. Tussell uses AI to flag buying signals in documents, which analysts verify. Neither documents an MCP connection.
05Can I cancel either mid-contract?
Under their public terms, no: DCI has a one-year minimum with automatic renewal, and Tussell’s G-Cloud sample order form does not permit cancellation during the term. Check your own contract.
Sources and method
[ HOW THIS WAS WRITTEN ]Defense Explorer wrote this page, and we sell a product in this category, so read it with that in mind. Competitor details come only from each vendor’s public website, help centre, terms and review listings, checked on 15 September 2026, and every claim links to its source below. We have not used every product under a paid contract. Where we could not verify something we say so rather than guess. Prices and features change: confirm on the vendor’s site before you buy. Spotted an error? Write to support@defenseexplorer.com and we will correct it.
- 01DCI — plans
- 02DCI — contract alerts and sources
- 03DCI — frameworks
- 04DCI — Aria Intelligence
- 05DCI — free trial
- 06DCI — terms and conditions
- 07DCI — FAQ
- 08DCI — about
- 09Trustpilot — dcicontracts.com
- 10Tussell — plans
- 11Tussell — G-Cloud 14 service listing
- 12Tussell — integrations
- 13Tussell — early opportunities
- 14Tussell — decision-maker data
- 15Tussell — defence procurement tracker
- 16Tussell — framework lot intelligence
- 17Tussell — about
See which defence opportunities fit your company.
Set up a company profile in minutes and get a ranked, explained shortlist today.