Defense Explorer vs DCI
DCI is the long-standing defence tender alerts and market intelligence service from BiP Solutions. Defense Explorer is a newer defence tender workspace. Both are defence-first; they differ on coverage, how AI is used, pricing transparency and contract terms.
The short version
[ VERDICT ]DCI brings long defence coverage, UK defence spend and framework data, ISO 27001 and a success manager on every plan. Defense Explorer brings NSPA and continental national sources, cited document briefs, a requirement matrix, published monthly pricing, a documented API and MCP.
- 01Both are built for defence and security suppliers.
- 02DCI names feeds including OJEU/TED, MOD eNotice, Contracts Finder, Delta eSourcing and US federal sources, and its listed plans are scoped to the UK and Ireland. It claims no NATO agency sources. Defense Explorer indexes NSPA and defence-filtered Dutch, Spanish and French platforms, but not MOD eNotice, Delta eSourcing or US federal notices.
- 03DCI’s Aria summarises contracts. Defense Explorer’s briefs cite the page and quote for every claim, and flag what could not be verified.
- 04DCI publishes no prices and requires a one-year term that renews automatically. Defense Explorer publishes prices and bills monthly.
- 05DCI has frameworks, UK defence spend and contact data that Defense Explorer does not.
Feature by feature
[ 18 ROWS ]What each product documents publicly. “Not documented” means we could not find it, not proof it does not exist.
| Defense Explorer | DCI | |
|---|---|---|
| Built for | European, UK and NATO defence and dual-use suppliers | Defence and security suppliers, SME to enterprise |
| Sources and coverage | [ 8 SOURCES ]TED, NATO/NSPA, EU Funding & Tenders, TenderNed, UK Find a Tender, UK Contracts Finder, Spain’s PLACSP and France’s BOAMP; national platforms filtered to defence-relevant notices. NCIA not yet indexed | [ UK-LED ]OJEU/TED, MOD eNotice, Contracts Finder, Delta eSourcing and US federal feeds; listed plans scoped UK & ROI; no NATO agencies claimed |
| Defence relevance classification | [ YES ]Military, dual-use, civil security or unrelated, with the reason shown | [ DEFENCE-ONLY ]The whole service is scoped to defence; per-notice relevance scoring not documented |
| Clearance evidence | [ YES ]Stated, inferred, none or unknown per notice | [ NOT DOCUMENTED ] |
| Fit matching | [ YES ]0–100 per product line, with reasons, unknowns and blockers listed separately | [ PARTIAL ]A “Recommender” is listed in plans; how it scores is not documented |
| Document briefs and citations | [ YES ]Every claim cites the page and quotes the text; unverifiable quotes become unknown | [ PARTIAL ]Aria contract summaries; citations not documented |
| Requirements and company evidence | [ YES ]Correctable requirement matrix linked to reviewed evidence with validity dates | [ NOT DOCUMENTED ] |
| Amendment tracking | [ YES ]Clause by clause, with affected requirements flagged for re-review | [ NOT DOCUMENTED ] |
| Pipeline and collaboration | [ YES ]Stages, owners, tasks, comments, @mentions and recorded decisions | [ PARTIAL ]Licence management, contact reminders and a bid manager tool in V7 |
| Early signals | [ YES ]Prior information notices, market consultations, stated contract end dates, Dutch DMP letters | [ PARTIAL ]Market intelligence from news sources, frameworks and contract lifecycle views |
| Buyer contacts and spend data | [ NO ]No contact database or invoice-level spend data | [ YES ]UK defence spend analysis; “Contact Decision Makers” on higher plans |
| REST API | [ YES ]OpenAPI 3.1, account-scoped keys, Team plan | [ PARTIAL ]“Open API” on the top plan only; no public documentation |
| MCP connection | [ YES ]OAuth or tokens; read tools plus two narrow writes | [ NOT DOCUMENTED ] |
| CRM, Slack and Teams | [ NO ]No native app; connect through the REST API | [ NOT DOCUMENTED ] |
| Exports | [ YES ]Requirements CSV, cited brief PDF, qualification pack PDF/XLSX, calendar feed, API | [ PARTIAL ]Print notices; frameworks data export, formats not stated |
| Hosting and certifications | EU-hosted application | ISO 27001, ISO 9001 and JOSCAR; hosting location not stated |
| Pricing | Scout free; Analyst €129/month; Team €89/seat/month, three-seat minimum | No published prices; one-year minimum that auto-renews |
| Trial or free plan | [ YES ]Free Scout plan | [ YES ]3-day free trial, followed by a sales callback |
Checked against each vendor’s public pages on 15 September 2026. Sources are listed at the end of this page.
The differences that matter
[ 04 POINTS ]Two defence-first products with different ideas of what the customer needs.
Coverage: UK defence heritage or European and NATO reach
DCI’s contract alerts draw on direct feeds from OJEU/TED, MOD eNotice, Contracts Finder, Delta eSourcing and US federal sources, backed by a frameworks module with more than 19,000 frameworks, contract lifecycle views and UK defence spend analysis. Every plan on its plans page is labelled “UK & ROI”, so ask what wider European or global coverage costs. DCI writes about NATO and EU defence procurement, but no page claims NSPA or NCIA as a data source.
Defense Explorer indexes NSPA, TED, EU Funding & Tenders and the UK’s Find a Tender and Contracts Finder, and filters TenderNed, PLACSP and BOAMP to defence-relevant notices. It does not index US federal opportunities, and NCIA is not live yet. If your buyers are UK primes’ programmes and the MOD, DCI’s UK depth counts for more than our NATO coverage.
AI that summarises or AI that cites
DCI’s Aria Intelligence turns long contracts into short summaries, and DCI promotes framework descriptions and personal insights. One DCI page labels those two features “Coming Soon” while the plans page already lists them, so confirm what is live on the plan you are quoted.
Defense Explorer’s briefs are built so a bid manager can check them. Every claim cites a page and quotes the text; a quote that cannot be found in the document becomes unknown, and documents that disagree are marked as a conflict. Requirements feed a matrix linked to your approved evidence, and amendments reopen the affected requirements. See cited briefs.
Buying and leaving
DCI’s plans show no prices. Its terms set a minimum one-year subscription that renews automatically; cancellation must be sent in writing at least 30 days before renewal, and price increases apply from the next renewal. The free trial lasts three days and is followed by a sales callback. On exports, DCI documents printing alert notices and a data export in the frameworks module with formats unstated; its “Open API” is on the top plan only, with no public documentation, and the terms contain no export clause.
Defense Explorer publishes prices, has a free plan and bills monthly. Requirements export as CSV, briefs as PDF, qualification packs as PDF or XLSX, and the REST API and MCP server are documented publicly. Before switching, read how to export data from DCI and check your renewal date.
What DCI does that we do not
DCI holds ISO 27001, ISO 9001 and JOSCAR certification, gives every plan a dedicated success manager and free executive reports, and discounts BiP’s DPRTE defence procurement events. It has UK defence spend analysis, framework and contract lifecycle data, market intelligence from news sources and decision-maker contacts on higher plans.
Defense Explorer has none of those data products, and no public review ratings yet. Security teams that require ISO 27001 or JOSCAR from a supplier should raise that with us early; our trust page sets out current practice.
Pricing side by side
[ LIST PRICES ]As published on each site. Confirm before you buy.
| Defense Explorer | DCI | |
|---|---|---|
| Published prices | Yes | No |
| Plans | Scout, Analyst, Team | iconIQ (1 licence), logIQ (3), dynamIQ (5), analytIQ (5) |
| Region in plan table | All eight sources on paid plans | “UK & ROI” on every listed plan |
| Minimum term | Billed monthly | One year, auto-renews; cancel in writing 30 days before renewal |
| Trial | Free Scout plan | 3 days, followed by a sales callback |
| API | REST API and MCP on Team | “Open API” on analytIQ only |
| Included extras | None | Success manager, executive reports, event discounts |
DCI’s products page uses older plan names (Essentials, Premium, Ultimate). The plans above are from its current plans page.
Which one to choose
[ DECISION ]- +You bid to NSPA or continental European defence buyers
- +You want to see the price and start without a sales call
- +You prefer monthly billing to a one-year auto-renewing term
- +You need cited briefs and a requirement matrix checked against your evidence
- +You want tender data in your own tools through a documented REST API or MCP
- –Your market is UK and Irish defence, and you want MOD eNotice and Delta eSourcing feeds
- –You need UK defence spend, framework and contract lifecycle data
- –Your security review requires a supplier with ISO 27001 and JOSCAR
- –You value a dedicated success manager and executive reports
- –You want US federal opportunities alongside UK and EU notices
Check your renewal date
[ NEXT STEP ]DCI’s terms require written cancellation at least 30 days before renewal. If you are considering a switch, check that date first, then see what you can take with you.
Questions
[ 06 ANSWERS ]01Does DCI cover NATO tenders?
DCI explains NATO and EU defence procurement in its articles, but no DCI page we read claims NSPA or NCIA as a data source. Defense Explorer indexes NSPA; neither indexes NCIA.
02How much does DCI cost?
DCI does not publish prices. Its four plans include one to five licences, and you request a quote or a demo. Subscriptions have a one-year minimum.
03Can I cancel DCI at any time?
Not under its published terms (version 7, effective 23 July 2026): there is a one-year minimum, and the subscription renews automatically unless cancelled in writing at least 30 days before renewal.
04Does DCI use AI?
Yes. Aria Intelligence produces contract summaries, and DCI promotes framework descriptions and personal insights, one page labelling them “Coming Soon”. We found no MCP connection or support for external AI assistants.
05Does DCI have an API?
An “Open API” is listed on the analytIQ plan only. We found no public API documentation. Defense Explorer’s API reference is public.
06Is Defense Explorer ISO 27001 certified?
We do not claim ISO 27001 or JOSCAR on this page. If your procurement requires them, tell us early, and see the trust page for current security practice.
Sources and method
[ HOW THIS WAS WRITTEN ]Defense Explorer wrote this page, and we sell a product in this category, so read it with that in mind. Competitor details come only from each vendor’s public website, help centre, terms and review listings, checked on 15 September 2026, and every claim links to its source below. We have not used every product under a paid contract. Where we could not verify something we say so rather than guess. Prices and features change: confirm on the vendor’s site before you buy. Spotted an error? Write to support@defenseexplorer.com and we will correct it.
See which defence opportunities fit your company.
Set up a company profile in minutes and get a ranked, explained shortlist today.