Stotles vs Tussell
Stotles and Tussell are the two UK public-sector intelligence platforms most sales and bid teams shortlist. Tussell is the older, data-first market database; Stotles is a newer sales and bidding platform with AI and CRM workflow.
The short version
[ VERDICT ]Choose Tussell when the job is understanding the UK market: spend, frameworks and call-offs, analyst-verified signals and research. Choose Stotles when the job is working opportunities: a free entry tier, AI bid/no-bid reports, native CRM sync and an MCP connector.
- 01Both are UK-focused. Stotles lists UK and Irish portals plus TED; Tussell is UK only. Neither covers NATO agencies or continental national portals.
- 02Both hold spend and contact data, measured differently: Stotles cites 200m+ buyer invoices and 3m+ buyer contacts; Tussell 81,000+ decision-maker contacts across 4,500+ UK buying organisations, plus framework lot intelligence.
- 03Stotles has generative AI: bid/no-bid reports over uploaded documents, Q&A and first drafts. Tussell uses AI to flag buying signals that analysts then verify, and documents no generative assistant.
- 04Stotles syncs natively with Salesforce and HubSpot and has an MCP connector. Tussell feeds CRMs and BI tools through a paid daily file API.
- 05Stotles publishes entry prices and auto-renews contracts unless given 45 days’ notice. Tussell is quote-only, on an annual subscription.
Feature by feature
[ 18 ROWS ]What each product documents publicly. “Not documented” means we could not find it, not proof it does not exist.
| Stotles | Tussell | |
|---|---|---|
| Built for | UK and Ireland go-to-government sales, BD and bid teams | Sales, BD and research teams selling to UK government |
| Sources and coverage | [ UK & IRELAND ]Contracts Finder, Find a Tender, Public Contracts Scotland, Sell2Wales, eTenders, Digital Marketplace, plus TED; no NATO agencies | [ UK ONLY ]Tenders, awards, frameworks, call-offs and spend; no EU national, EU funding or NATO data |
| Defence relevance classification | [ NOT DOCUMENTED ]UK MOD covered through a defence landing page | [ PARTIAL ]Publishes a UK defence procurement tracker; per-notice classification not documented |
| Clearance evidence | [ NOT DOCUMENTED ] | [ NOT DOCUMENTED ] |
| Fit matching | [ YES ]Signal Score | [ NOT DOCUMENTED ] |
| Document briefs and citations | [ YES ]AI bid/no-bid reports and Q&A over uploaded tender documents; citation format not documented | [ NOT DOCUMENTED ]No generative assistant found |
| Requirements and company evidence | [ PARTIAL ]Content library and AI first drafts from past bids in Bid Studio | [ NOT DOCUMENTED ] |
| Amendment tracking | [ NOT DOCUMENTED ] | [ NOT DOCUMENTED ] |
| Pipeline and collaboration | [ YES ]Bid pipeline workspace and shared saved views; SSO on Bid Studio Expert | [ NOT DOCUMENTED ]Named-user licences and an account manager; no pipeline documented |
| Early signals | [ YES ]Pre-tenders, expiring contracts and opportunities found in buyer documents | [ YES ]AI-flagged, analyst-verified signals from UK buyer documents |
| Buyer contacts and spend data | [ YES ]Decision-maker contacts and buyer invoice data | [ YES ]81,000+ UK contacts and invoice-level spend |
| REST API | [ NOT DOCUMENTED ]No public REST API found | [ PARTIAL ]Paid API delivered as daily files on AWS S3, with PDF documentation |
| MCP connection | [ YES ]Claude, ChatGPT and Microsoft 365 Copilot, on paid plans | [ NOT DOCUMENTED ] |
| CRM, Slack and Teams | [ YES ]Salesforce and HubSpot sync, Slack; Teams, SharePoint and Google Drive listed | [ YES ]Salesforce, HubSpot, Dynamics, Power BI, Slack, Teams and others via the paid API |
| Exports | [ PARTIAL ]Contact export and CRM push; no bulk export documented | [ YES ]CSV downloads; spend capped at 500,000 rows; 364-day data licence |
| Hosting and certifications | AWS, region not stated; Vanta trust centre | UK-hosted; Cyber Essentials; no ISO 27001 (G-Cloud listing) |
| Pricing | Free tier; Sales Studio Basic from £75/month, Growth from £475/month, Expert custom | No published prices; G-Cloud 14 lists £11,400 per licence per year |
| Trial or free plan | [ YES ]Free Sales Studio and Bid Studio tiers | [ PARTIAL ]G-Cloud listing: 7 days, one page of results, no export |
Checked against each vendor’s public pages on 15 September 2026. Sources are listed at the end of this page.
The differences that matter
[ 04 POINTS ]Data depth
Tussell is the stronger research dataset: tenders, awards, frameworks and call-offs, framework lot intelligence, spend and early opportunities from central government, local government and NHS documents, each verified by an analyst. It publishes widely cited trackers, including a UK defence procurement tracker, and offers bespoke analyst research.
Stotles covers similar UK ground with a sales lens: pre-tenders, expiring contracts, buyer documents, invoices and contacts, organised around buyer profiles and competitor tracking. Tussell’s framework and call-off detail is the clearest gap between them.
Workflow and AI
Stotles runs two studios. Sales Studio handles the feed, buyers and outreach; Bid Studio produces AI bid/no-bid reports from uploaded tender documents, answers questions about them, and keeps a content library for first drafts. Its platform page still lists automated bid drafting as coming soon, so check what your plan includes.
Tussell documents no pipeline or bid workflow. Its model is data plus people: a named account manager, analyst-verified signals and research on request.
Integrations
Stotles syncs notices and contacts to Salesforce and HubSpot, posts to Slack, lists Teams, SharePoint and Google Drive, and since August 2026 offers an MCP connector for Claude, ChatGPT and Microsoft 365 Copilot on paid plans. We found no public REST API.
Tussell’s paid API delivers daily files on AWS S3, which it uses to feed HubSpot, Salesforce, Dynamics, Power BI, Tableau, Slack, Teams and others. Web app data downloads as CSV. We found no MCP connection.
Contract terms and trials
Stotles’ terms extend the agreement automatically by the original term unless you give 45 days’ notice. Its free tiers act as an open-ended trial.
Tussell sells annual subscriptions. Its G-Cloud sample order form sets a 12-month minimum with no auto-renewal and no cancellation mid-term, and its trial runs seven days with one page of results and no export. Downloaded data carries a 364-day licence. See the export guides for Stotles and Tussell.
Pricing side by side
[ LIST PRICES ]As published on each site or public listing. Confirm before you buy.
| Stotles | Tussell | |
|---|---|---|
| Published prices | Yes, entry tiers | No, “Talk to Sales” |
| Free tier | Sales Studio Free; Bid Studio Free (3 lifetime AI reports) | None |
| Reference price | Sales Studio Basic from £75/month; Growth from £475/month | G-Cloud 14: £11,400 per licence per year |
| Top tier | Expert, custom price | Pro, quote |
| Term | Auto-renews unless 45 days’ notice | Annual; G-Cloud sample: 12-month minimum, no auto-renew |
| Trial | Free tiers | 7 days, one page of results, no export |
Stotles does not state whether its prices are per seat. Tussell’s G-Cloud order form is a 2023-dated template and indicative only.
Which one to choose
[ DECISION ]- +You want to start free and grow into paid tiers
- +Your team lives in Salesforce or HubSpot and wants native sync
- +You want AI bid/no-bid reports and drafting support
- +You want an MCP connector for your AI assistant
- –You need framework, call-off and lot-level data
- –Research and market sizing matter more than workflow
- –You want analyst-verified early opportunities and bespoke research
- –You prefer a fixed annual term without auto-renewal
Where Defense Explorer fits
[ THIRD OPTION · OUR PRODUCT ]We sell a product in this category. This section is ours; the rest of the page is about the two products above.
Both products are UK-focused. If your bids also go to NATO agencies such as NSPA or to continental defence ministries, Defense Explorer covers those sources and adds defence relevance and clearance classification, cited briefs and recorded bid decisions. It has no contacts or spend data, so it complements rather than replaces either product for UK account planning.
Compare it directly: Defense Explorer vs Stotles and Defense Explorer vs Tussell.
Questions
[ 05 ANSWERS ]01Is Stotles or Tussell better for UK public sector sales?
Stotles suits teams that want workflow, CRM sync and AI bid tools; Tussell suits teams that want deep market data, frameworks and research. Many large suppliers use Tussell for strategy and a separate tool for daily work.
02Which is cheaper?
Stotles has a free tier and paid plans from £75/month. Tussell is quote-only; its G-Cloud 14 listing shows £11,400 per licence per year.
03Do Stotles or Tussell cover defence?
Both cover UK MOD notices within UK data. Tussell publishes a defence procurement tracker; Stotles has a UK defence landing page. Neither covers NATO agencies. See the best UK defence tender software.
04Do they have APIs or MCP?
Tussell has a paid daily file API on AWS S3. Stotles has native CRM integrations and an MCP connector on paid plans, but no public REST API that we found.
05Which has more contacts?
The figures are not comparable: Stotles cites 3m+ buyer contacts, Tussell 81,000+ decision-maker contacts across 4,500+ buying organisations. Test both on the buyers you target.
Sources and method
[ HOW THIS WAS WRITTEN ]Defense Explorer wrote this page, and we sell a product in this category, so read it with that in mind. Competitor details come only from each vendor’s public website, help centre, terms and review listings, checked on 15 September 2026, and every claim links to its source below. We have not used every product under a paid contract. Where we could not verify something we say so rather than guess. Prices and features change: confirm on the vendor’s site before you buy. Spotted an error? Write to support@defenseexplorer.com and we will correct it.
- 01Stotles — pricing
- 02Stotles — platform
- 03Stotles — where data comes from
- 04Stotles — CRM integration data transfer
- 05Stotles — finding decision-maker contacts
- 06Stotles — Summer Release FAQ (MCP)
- 07Stotles — UK defence tenders page
- 08Stotles — terms and conditions
- 09Stotles — Series A announcement
- 10Capterra — Stotles reviews
- 11Tussell — plans
- 12Tussell — G-Cloud 14 service listing
- 13Tussell — integrations
- 14Tussell — early opportunities
- 15Tussell — decision-maker data
- 16Tussell — defence procurement tracker
- 17Tussell — framework lot intelligence
- 18Tussell — about
See which defence opportunities fit your company.
Set up a company profile in minutes and get a ranked, explained shortlist today.