Defense Explorer vs Stotles
Stotles is a public-sector sales platform built around UK and Irish buyers, with contacts, spend data, CRM sync and AI bid tools. Defense Explorer is a defence tender workspace covering EU, UK and NATO sources. They overlap less than the category name suggests.
The short version
[ VERDICT ]Stotles is stronger for account-based selling into UK and Irish government: contacts, spend, expiring contracts and Salesforce or HubSpot sync. Defense Explorer is stronger when the buyer is a defence ministry, NSPA or a continental national platform, and when the question is whether you can meet the requirements.
- 01Stotles lists UK and Irish portals plus TED, with no NATO agency or continental national portals. Defense Explorer adds NSPA, EU Funding & Tenders, TenderNed, PLACSP and BOAMP.
- 02Stotles has decision-maker contacts, buyer invoice data and expiring contracts. Defense Explorer has no contact database and no spend data.
- 03Both have an MCP connector: Stotles on paid plans for Claude, ChatGPT and Microsoft 365 Copilot; Defense Explorer on the Team plan for any MCP client. Defense Explorer also publishes a REST API, which we did not find for Stotles.
- 04Stotles syncs natively with Salesforce and HubSpot and posts to Slack. Defense Explorer connects to a CRM only through its REST API.
- 05Stotles drafts bid content from past wins. Defense Explorer stops at qualification and the bid/no-bid decision.
Feature by feature
[ 18 ROWS ]What each product documents publicly. “Not documented” means we could not find it, not proof it does not exist.
| Defense Explorer | Stotles | |
|---|---|---|
| Built for | European, UK and NATO defence and dual-use suppliers | UK and Ireland go-to-government sales, BD and bid teams |
| Sources and coverage | [ 8 SOURCES ]TED, NATO/NSPA, EU Funding & Tenders, TenderNed, UK Find a Tender, UK Contracts Finder, Spain’s PLACSP and France’s BOAMP; national platforms filtered to defence-relevant notices. NCIA not yet indexed | [ UK & IRELAND ]Contracts Finder, Find a Tender, Public Contracts Scotland, Sell2Wales, eTenders, Digital Marketplace, plus TED; no NATO agencies |
| Defence relevance classification | [ YES ]Military, dual-use, civil security or unrelated, with the reason shown | [ NOT DOCUMENTED ]UK MOD covered through a defence landing page |
| Clearance evidence | [ YES ]Stated, inferred, none or unknown per notice | [ NOT DOCUMENTED ] |
| Fit matching | [ YES ]0–100 per product line, with reasons, unknowns and blockers listed separately | [ YES ]Signal Score |
| Document briefs and citations | [ YES ]Every claim cites the page and quotes the text; unverifiable quotes become unknown | [ YES ]AI bid/no-bid reports and Q&A over uploaded tender documents; citation format not documented |
| Requirements and company evidence | [ YES ]Correctable requirement matrix linked to reviewed evidence with validity dates | [ PARTIAL ]Content library and AI first drafts from past bids in Bid Studio |
| Amendment tracking | [ YES ]Clause by clause, with affected requirements flagged for re-review | [ NOT DOCUMENTED ] |
| Pipeline and collaboration | [ YES ]Stages, owners, tasks, comments, @mentions and recorded decisions | [ YES ]Bid pipeline workspace and shared saved views; SSO on Bid Studio Expert |
| Early signals | [ YES ]Prior information notices, market consultations, stated contract end dates, Dutch DMP letters | [ YES ]Pre-tenders, expiring contracts and opportunities found in buyer documents |
| Buyer contacts and spend data | [ NO ]No contact database or invoice-level spend data | [ YES ]Decision-maker contacts and buyer invoice data |
| REST API | [ YES ]OpenAPI 3.1, account-scoped keys, Team plan | [ NOT DOCUMENTED ]No public REST API found |
| MCP connection | [ YES ]OAuth or tokens; read tools plus two narrow writes | [ YES ]Claude, ChatGPT and Microsoft 365 Copilot, on paid plans |
| CRM, Slack and Teams | [ NO ]No native app; connect through the REST API | [ YES ]Salesforce and HubSpot sync, Slack; Teams, SharePoint and Google Drive listed |
| Exports | [ YES ]Requirements CSV, cited brief PDF, qualification pack PDF/XLSX, calendar feed, API | [ PARTIAL ]Contact export and CRM push; no bulk export documented |
| Hosting and certifications | EU-hosted application | AWS, region not stated; Vanta trust centre |
| Pricing | Scout free; Analyst €129/month; Team €89/seat/month, three-seat minimum | Free tier; Sales Studio Basic from £75/month, Growth from £475/month, Expert custom |
| Trial or free plan | [ YES ]Free Scout plan | [ YES ]Free Sales Studio and Bid Studio tiers |
Checked against each vendor’s public pages on 15 September 2026. Sources are listed at the end of this page.
The differences that matter
[ 04 POINTS ]The products answer different questions. These are the ones that separate them.
Where your buyers are
Stotles’ help centre lists its sources: Contracts Finder, Find a Tender, Public Contracts Scotland, Sell2Wales, eTenders, eTenders NI and the Digital Marketplace, plus TED, invoiced spend, buyer documents and contacts. Defence appears as a UK MOD landing page claiming more than 22,000 MOD notices and awards, not as a separate product. For a supplier whose market is the UK and Ireland, that is deep and well organised.
Defense Explorer indexes both UK portals too, but its reason to exist is the rest of Europe and NATO: NSPA, the EU Funding & Tenders portal, and defence-filtered notices from TenderNed, Spain’s PLACSP and France’s BOAMP, alongside TED. Spanish and French notices keep their original language, with English titles and summaries. If a meaningful share of your bids go to continental ministries or NATO, Stotles will not show them.
Sales intelligence vs qualification evidence
Stotles is built for account planning: over three million buyer contacts, an outreach builder, buyer profiles, spend and competitor tracking, and expiring contracts to target before they re-tender. Defense Explorer has none of that. If your process starts with “who at this buyer should we talk to”, Stotles is the better tool.
Defense Explorer starts from the notice and asks whether you can win it. Each notice gets a defence relevance label and clearance evidence. Requirements are pulled from the documents with page citations, matched against your reviewed certificates and references with validity dates, and flagged again if the buyer amends them. The pursuit board records who owns it, the next action, and the decision with its rationale.
AI in the bid process
Stotles offers a Signal Score, “Ask Stotles”, bid/no-bid reports built from uploaded tender documents with Q&A over them, and first drafts from past bids. Its platform page still labels automated bid drafting as coming soon while other pages describe AI first drafts as available, so ask Stotles which is live on your plan.
Defense Explorer does not draft proposals. It produces briefs where every claim cites the page and quotes the text, and a quote the system cannot find in the document becomes unknown instead of fact. The design choice is to make the bid decision checkable, not to write the bid.
Integrations, contracts and leaving
Stotles integrates natively with Salesforce and HubSpot, sends feed updates to Slack, and lists Teams, SharePoint and Google Drive. We found no public REST API. Contacts can be exported or pushed to your CRM, but bulk export of saved views, pipeline or bid reports is not documented. Contracts renew automatically unless you give 45 days’ notice before the end of the term.
Defense Explorer has no native CRM or Slack app; you connect them through the REST API. Requirements export as CSV, briefs as PDF and qualification packs as PDF or XLSX. Billing is monthly. Our Stotles export guide covers what leaves through the CRM sync and what does not.
Pricing side by side
[ LIST PRICES ]As published on each site. Confirm before you buy.
| Defense Explorer | Stotles | |
|---|---|---|
| Free plan | Scout | Sales Studio Free; Bid Studio Free with 3 lifetime AI reports |
| Entry paid plan | Analyst, €129/month | Sales Studio Basic, from £75/month |
| Mid tier | Team, €89 per seat/month, three-seat minimum | Sales Studio Growth, from £475/month; Bid Studio Growth also listed |
| Top tier | None; contact us for volume | Expert tiers, custom price |
| Currency | EUR, excl. VAT | GBP |
| Renewal | Billed monthly | Auto-renews for the same term unless 45 days’ notice is given |
| MCP | Team plan | All paid plans, not Free |
Stotles’ pricing page does not state whether its prices are per seat, and two reads of the page showed different Bid Studio Growth figures, so we have left that figure out. Confirm with Stotles.
Which one to choose
[ DECISION ]- +You bid to defence buyers outside the UK and Ireland, including NSPA
- +Defence relevance and clearance evidence matter more to you than contact lists
- +You need cited requirements checked against your certificates before a bid decision
- +You want a documented REST API as well as an MCP connection
- +You prefer monthly billing to an auto-renewing term
- –You sell mainly to UK and Irish public bodies
- –Your team works in Salesforce or HubSpot and wants native sync
- –Account planning depends on decision-maker contacts, spend and expiring contracts
- –You want AI help drafting bid content, which Defense Explorer does not offer
- –You want a free tier for UK tender tracking
Using both
[ NEXT STEP ]Running both is reasonable: Stotles for UK account planning, Defense Explorer for NATO and continental defence notices. If you are consolidating instead, start with what Stotles lets you take with you.
Questions
[ 06 ANSWERS ]01Does Stotles cover defence tenders?
It covers UK MOD notices through the UK portals it indexes, and has a UK defence landing page. We found no defence relevance or clearance classification, and no NATO agency sources, documented.
02Does Stotles cover EU national or NATO tenders?
Its sources are UK and Irish portals plus TED. We found no continental national portals and no NSPA or NCIA coverage listed. Defense Explorer covers NSPA, TenderNed, PLACSP, BOAMP and EU Funding & Tenders, but not NCIA.
03Do both have an MCP connector?
Yes. Stotles announced one in August 2026 for Claude, ChatGPT and Microsoft 365 Copilot on paid plans. Defense Explorer’s MCP server is on the Team plan and works with any MCP client; see MCP setup.
04Can Defense Explorer sync to Salesforce or HubSpot?
Not natively. Teams pull matches through the REST API on a schedule and upsert them into the CRM using the stable opportunity id. If you want a native sync without writing code, Stotles has one.
05Which is cheaper?
Both have a free plan. Stotles’ paid Sales Studio starts from £75/month and Growth from £475/month; Defense Explorer Analyst is €129/month and Team €89 per seat per month with a three-seat minimum. The right comparison depends on seats and which Stotles studio you need.
06Which is better for UK defence suppliers?
For UK-only defence work with a CRM-led sales team, Stotles is the stronger fit. If your bids also go to NATO or continental buyers, Defense Explorer covers them. See the best UK defence tender software.
Sources and method
[ HOW THIS WAS WRITTEN ]Defense Explorer wrote this page, and we sell a product in this category, so read it with that in mind. Competitor details come only from each vendor’s public website, help centre, terms and review listings, checked on 15 September 2026, and every claim links to its source below. We have not used every product under a paid contract. Where we could not verify something we say so rather than guess. Prices and features change: confirm on the vendor’s site before you buy. Spotted an error? Write to support@defenseexplorer.com and we will correct it.
- 01Stotles — pricing
- 02Stotles — platform
- 03Stotles — where data comes from
- 04Stotles — CRM integration data transfer
- 05Stotles — finding decision-maker contacts
- 06Stotles — Summer Release FAQ (MCP)
- 07Stotles — UK defence tenders page
- 08Stotles — terms and conditions
- 09Stotles — Series A announcement
- 10Capterra — Stotles reviews
See which defence opportunities fit your company.
Set up a company profile in minutes and get a ranked, explained shortlist today.